The Arizona Biennial 2015 Artists Have Been Chosen


Grant Wiggins' "A New Way of Thinking About Everything" is one of 50 pieces selected for the Biennial. - COURTESY OF TUCSON MUSEUM OF ART
  • Courtesy of Tucson Museum of Art
  • Grant Wiggins' "A New Way of Thinking About Everything" is one of 50 pieces selected for the Biennial.

The Tucson Museum of Art is planning out the 67th year of its Arizona Biennial exhibition and the 33 artists that will be featured in the 2015 show have been selected. The juried exhibition was vetted this year by guest juror Irene Hofmann, Director and Chief Curator of SITE Santa Fe. Hoffman had her work cut out for her too, selecting 50 pieces from the 1,490 that were submitted in total and contributing to the oldest running juried exhibition featuring exclusively Arizona artists.

The museum event is meant to showcase up and coming, new and unique works from the state's artists. This year's exhibition will feature 33 artists in a range of media including painting, sculpture, photography, video and installation art. The artists selected for the Arizona Biennial 2015 are David Emitt Adams, Elizabeth Burden, Carlton Bradford, Curt Brill, John H. Clarke, Jeffrey J. DaCosta, Jeff Dodson, Abigail Felber, Denis Gillingwater, Jennifer Holt, Alan Bur Johnson, Daniel Johnson, Carolina Maki Kitagawa, Carolyn Lavender, Ellen McMahon and Beth Weinstein, Brooke Molla, Katherine Monaghan, Anthony Pessler, Emmett Potter, Rembrandt Quiballo, Robert Renfrow, Prima Sakuntabhai, Patricia Sannit, Steven R. Schaeffer, Mike Stack, Lauren Strohacker and Kendra Sollars, Novie Trump, Zachary Valent, Kathleen Velo, Grant Wiggins and Angie Zielinski.

You can catch all of those artists at the Tucson Museum of Art, located at 140 N. Main Ave., beginning July 25 and running until October 11. The public closing night event will offer up auctions of selected works, food, wine and live music by Crystal Radio, with Amelia Poe and Daniel Martin Diaz. Tickets are $40 in advance, $30 for CAS members and $50 at the door. For more information on that event, e-mail

Add a comment