No Access Tucson

by

comment

After the Tucson City Council voted to cut $379,368 from Access Tucson, the public access TV station announced Thursday that it would close its doors for a month beginning in early February. Here's the release:


During last night's Access Tucson Board of Directors meeting, the Board decided to shut down Access Tucson for four weeks while we continue to negotiate with the City to keep public access viable in Tucson. This temporary measure is being taken to preserve our remaining reserve funding.

Access Tucson Closure:
Wednesday, February 10th through Tuesday, March 9th

Programming will continue on the channels but no other services will be provided and staff will not be working. No new programming or cablecast calendars will be accepted

after Saturday, February 6th at 7pm except for the live programs that night.

A study for the City Manager is underway of how and if the city government channel, Tucson 12 and Access Tucson may combine in some manner so Tucson 12 can continue to serve the government and Access Tucson can continue serving the community. The City Manager's recommendation to keep Access Tucson viable will go to the Mayor and Council by February 23 at the latest.

Essentially, we are making sure we are here to honor the City's effort and intent to maintain both the city voice and the public voice on February 23rd. The financial savings will ensure that Access Tucson can fully participate in the transition to come.

We urge you to continue show your support by contacting the Mayor and Council. Tell them why Access Tucson and public voice is important to you.

Mayor: Robert.Walkup@tucsonaz.gov
(520) 791-4201

Ward 1: Regina.Romero@tucsonaz.gov
(520) 791-4040

Ward 2: Rodney.Glassman@tucsonaz.gov
(520) 791-4687

Ward 3: Karin.Uhlich@tucsonaz.gov
(520) 791-4711

Ward 4: Shirley.Scott@tucsonaz.gov
(520) 791-3199

Ward 5: Richard.Fimbres@tucsonaz.gov
(520) 791-4231

Ward 6: Steve.Kozachik@tucsonaz.gov
(520) 791-4601

You can try emailing them all at once by clicking clicking here. This may not work with all email programs and if you are using Microsoft Outlook, you will need to replace the commas with semi-colons.

Thank you.

Tags

Add a comment