SB 1432: Because If Our Toilets Aren't Sacred, What Is?

by

31 comments

They just don't have anything better to do, do they?

Our dear legislature is up to it again, Tucson, with some crazy-ass laws being introduced that have nothing to do with education and the economy. No, now they are interested in making sure that the public bathroom you use matches the sex you were assigned at birth.

A proposed strike-everything amendment to SB 1432 will criminalize transsexuals and our good friends that don't have any use for that gender stuff. It's ridiculous, it's silly and yes, it's Arizona, but seriously, when do these people stop? Wingspan and other groups are trying to get the word out. The bill goes before the House Appropriations Committee tomorrow, 2 p.m.

You can read the amendment that was introduced by Rep. John Kavanagh here:

B. A PERSON COMMITS DISORDERLY CONDUCT IF THE PERSON INTENTIONALLY
22 ENTERS A PUBLIC RESTROOM, BATHROOM, SHOWER, BATH, DRESSING ROOM OR LOCKER
23 ROOM AND A SIGN INDICATES THAT THE ROOM IS FOR THE EXCLUSIVE USE OF PERSONS
24 OF ONE SEX AND THE PERSON IS NOT LEGALLY CLASSIFIED ON THE PERSON'S BIRTH
25 CERTIFICATE AS A MEMBER OF THAT SEX.

They want you to write or call these folks today:

There are 11 members on the Appropriations committee, 7 Republicans, 4 Democrats:
Chairman: John Kavanagh (R) jkavanagh@azleg.gov 602-926-5170
Vice-Chair: Justin Olson (R) jolson@azleg.gov 602-926-5288
Lela Alston (D) lalston@azleg.gov 602-926-5829
Rick Gray (R) rgray@azleg.gov 602-926-5993
Michelle Ugenti (R) mugenti@azleg.gov 602-926-4480
Paul Boyer (R) pboyer@azleg.gov 602-926-4173
Adam Kwasman (R) akwasman@azleg.gov 602-926-5839
Chad Campbell (D) chcampbell@azleg.gov 602-926-3026
Stefanie Mach (D) smach@azleg.gov 602-926-3398
Thomas Forese (R) tforese@azleg.gov 602-926-5168
Andrew Sherwood (D) asherwood@azleg.gov 602-926-3028

Comments (31)

Showing 1-25 of 31

Add a comment
 

Add a comment